The New Year

I would rather that my spark should burn out in a brilliant blaze than it should be stifled by dry-rot. I would rather be a superb meteor, every atom of me in magnificent glow, than a sleepy and permanent planet. The function of man is to live, not to exist. I shall not waste my days trying to prolong them. I shall use my time.

–Jack London

January and February are dreary months for me…I just feel like hibernating.  Maybe I need more Vitamin D, maybe (probably) I need more exercise, but whatever it is, this time of year is such a bummer! So my New Year’s resolution is simply to try to make the end of winter as enjoyable as possible and to try to avoid wishing away the days.

One thing that will probably help is the Nor’easter we’re supposed to get tomorrow. Nothing like a foot of snow to make winter fun again. I haven’t made snow angels yet this year, but that may have to change.

~ by releasethebadgers on January 11, 2011.

2 Responses to “The New Year”

  1. I love that quote! It’s so inspirational!

  2. Thanks Katie! The thing I most remember about Jack London’s fiction is a short story where a guy slowly freezes to death. So it’s a surprise that he had such an inspiring outlook elsewhere! Ha ha.

Leave a Reply

 
