Confession:

Adults in costume freak me out.

My parents tell me that when I was two, we went to a restaurant during Mardi Gras, and the wait staff was dressed up–pirates, princesses, etc.

Apparently I screamed nonstop until we left that restaurant.

These days I no longer actually scream, but I am still slightly unnerved by adults dressing up as something they are not. Halloween for the most part does not bother me–generally you can clearly tell who is who, but…things like Disney are what get me. Large, semi-anthropomorphized rats and dogs and mice with giant heads? Weird. And creepy.

We have visited the Old North Bridge in Concord several times. Sometimes there’s a man in costume–either dressed as a redcoat or a minuteman–“guarding” the bridge. The first time we visited, a redcoat stood there, firmly rooted in front of the bridge. Graham had to persuade me to walk up to the man, and he teased me mercilessly about it (but really, who wants to confront a redcoat with a musket?Am I the weird one here?)

Yesterday, while searching for a summer job, I found out that they are looking for another “reenacter” (as they call the costumed gentlefolk) to stand by the Old North Bridge. Think I should apply?

~ by releasethebadgers on March 11, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
