“Just wait until Lambeau…”

So, Claire and I stayed after trivia last night to watch the Packers play the Vikings on ESPN (we don’t have cable). The Packers played valiantly in the three quarters we watched, but it’s impossible to deny that Brett Favre played very well, and the Vikings brought a tough game.

I like Aaron Rodgers a lot. I think he’s a great “next generation” quarterback for the Pack. I haven’t actually watched too many games since moving to Boston, but what I’ve seen, I’ve liked. However, that was not what I was struck by after last night’s game.

I didn’t think I was too attached to Packers football, but it was hard to see Brett Favre playing in a purple jersey. I guess I equate the green and gold number 4 with home and growing up. So seeing this interview was a bit of a bummer.

I’m impressed that he’s beaten all 32 teams in the NFL. But at the same time, maybe I was more impressed when it was 31. “Our team” used to be our team. But no longer. So I guess two things Claire said last night really sum them all up. First, it’s too bad that Favre had to trade in his legacy with all of us Sconnies (and it was all of Wisconsin, judging by the poll results shown on MNF as to who would win the game) for a few more wins. I agree with that, especially now. I also agree to what she said next:

“Just wait until Lambeau.”

~ by gsazama on October 6, 2009.

One Response to ““Just wait until Lambeau…””

  1. “You can take the boy and girl out of the country but you CAN”T take the country out of the boy and girl.”

    Keep up the good work on representing us Sconnies!!

    PDF

Leave a Reply

 
