wanderlust

Sunlight through the Alhambra's windows. This room is where Columbus petitioned Isabella for money.

Sunlight through the Alhambra's windows.

Ronda, Spain: city built on a gorge to keep the moors out

Ronda, Spain: building a city on a gorge keeps the Moors out.

Driving through Spain--sunflower fields and castles galore

Driving through Spain--sunflower fields and castles galore

Exploring Carcassonne's ramparts at night.

Exploring Carcassonne's ramparts at night.

We stumbled on the ruins of a castle in the mountains near Avignon, France.

We stumbled on the ruins of a castle in the mountains near Avignon, France.

Vernazza, Italy, on the Mediterranean. Part of Cinque Terre.

Vernazza, Italy. Lots of hills, but no cars.

Venice at night, about as romantic as it gets. Also, difficult to take a non-blurry picture.

Venice at night, about as romantic as it gets.

Blue and beautiful.

Blue and beautiful.

Walking along the Seine on our last night in Europe.

Walking along the Seine on our last night in Europe.

My class starts in two weeks. Before then I have a LOT to do. I need to finish selecting plays, short stories and essays in order to round out my reading list; put together my syllabus; and prepare to teach those first classes.

But, I can’t seem to make myself do it.

Instead, I keep wallowing in nostalgia and wishing I could drop everything and explore. Remembering swimming in the Mediterranean in Italy, running down the Champs Elysee at midnight, and smelling the incredibly fragrant roses that grow inside the walls of Granada. (When I reminisce about our travels, I conveniently block out the hot and crowded train rides, the endless blisters, and the times Graham and I were so hungry and tired that we acted less like newlyweds and more like kindergarteners.)

Luckily for me, Graham and I leave tomorrow to visit our friends Bob and Ali. We’re going to the Jersey shore! While New Jersey might not be, say, Prague, we are excited about our little weekend escape.

Hope you enjoyed the pictures. Choosing a few to share from the 700+ available photos was not easy! I will have to upload the whole bunch (or at least a nice sampling) to Facebook some day…

~ by releasethebadgers on August 20, 2009.

2 Responses to “wanderlust”

  1. I love being able to look at your picture of the Eiffel Tower and think these things:
    I know exactly where you stood when you took this picture.
    I’ve looked down onto that spot from the top of the tower.
    and finally… I’ve stood where you were :)

    Such a weird thing to think about, huh?

    I love your pictures, they look like they should be on postcards or in a travel brochure!

  2. I know, that is so cool!

Leave a Reply

 
