Can’t Stop

I have taken up running this summer. I got this idea in my head that I’m “getting old”–after all, I’ll be a quarter-of-a-century old in the spring–and I figured now is the ideal time to achieve some sort of fitness accomplishment. I chose a 5k as my (purposefully modest) goal, and, armed with a training plan from Womens Health and a new pair of shoes, I took off. I’ve been running for about six weeks now, and I generally run 4 times a week. My weekly mileage is currently about 13 miles.

Today I ran 4 miles. It took me about 40 minutes, though I didn’t push myself too hard. (It was supposed to be my “long and easy” run for the week.) I can run a 5k, which is 3.1 miles, in about 28 minutes. My legs look more muscled. I can run for an hour straight and not be sore the next day. I know for some these accomplishments are pretty measly. Still, I’m proud of myself.

I’ve long enjoyed working out–doing the elliptical, the stair climber, yoga, lifting weights–but running seemed too hardcore. Also, boring. But, though I can’t believe it, I’ve really been enjoying myself. Running appeals to me, as a cerebral, academic type, because it’s rather zen. When you are running, your focus is on your form, your breathing; your body, not your mind. And, damn, it feels good to turn off my mind every once and awhile.

I typically run around the Chestnut Hill Reservoir, which undoubtedly adds to my enjoyment as well, since it’s one of the few spots around here where I get a nice slice of nature. I’m especially invested in checking out the swans that are sometimes floating serenely along the surface. When I first saw them on the reservoir, I stopped dead in my tracks. I couldn’t believe that not even one other person seemed to notice or care about the presence of these startlingly large and white birds. (City dwellers. Ugh.) I’d never seen a swan in the wild before; I was amazed, and curious. So I looked them up, and the bird books says they shouldn’t technically be inhabiting a spot this far north/east. So, I view them as an enjoyable fluke. They are one more thing that motivates me to get out and run run run.

triumph

Next goal: doing 90 minutes of Vinyasa (yoga) without feeling like I’m going to die.

~ by releasethebadgers on August 13, 2009.

2 Responses to “Can’t Stop”

  1. Hey, Claire! I’ve also started running a few times a week this summer and just ordered a new pair of ASICS shoes (my old shoes are starting to make my knees hurt). I’m the same way, never thought that I would enjoy running, but it’s really growing on me. Maybe we can go for a run while you guys are visiting. I’m not sure my short legs will be able to keep up (although I am proud of the progress I’ve made!), and I don’t think we’ll run into any swans around here..maybe a duck or two and definitely some geese :)

  2. Good for you Ali! I’d love to go with you when we come to Jersey…we’re excited to make the trip!

Leave a Reply

 
