Healthier Banana Bread

For days I’ve been meaning to do something with the bananas that we failed to eat in time. Tonight I noticed that they had started to accumulate fruit flies–it was time to fish or cut bait, a.k.a. to make something with the ancient bananas or to throw them away (the latter is obviously an unacceptable alternative!)

Between my own cookbooks and the endless numbers of recipes available online, I had ample options. But despite lots of searching, I couldn’t find a (relatively) healthy version that didn’t call for applesauce (our applesauce, upon inspection, was covered in mold.)  In the end, I improvised and then found myself watching the oven in consternation. Despite my nervousness, I’m happy to report–as I scarf down my second piece–that it worked! The bread came out moist and delicious. So here’s the recipe, in case anyone else has old bananas and feels like baking. Yum!

Ingredients:

  • 1 and 1/4 c. all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 c. sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 c. butter
  • 1/4 c. fat-free sour cream
  • 1 egg, well beaten
  • 2 overripe bananas, mashed

Mix flour, salt, sugar and baking soda in a large bowl. Blend in cut butter until the mixture resembles pea-sized dough. Add egg, sour cream, and bananas. Do not over mix! Bake in 9×5 loaf pan at 350 until a knife inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean. (My cooking time was about 30 minutes.)

You could probably replace some or all of the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour and make it even healthier; unfortunately, I didn’t have any on hand. You could also probably replace some (all?) of the sugar with molasses, which is healthier, but the flavor will be slightly different if you do that.

Happy baking! Happy Sunday as well. Hope you all had a wonderful holiday. Here in Boston the sun finally came out, miracle of miracles! So we ended up relaxing outside quite a bit. We also went to a Fourth of July potluck, watched the fireworks, and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

~ by releasethebadgers on July 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
