Most depressing week of reading assignments ever

I just finished my second Hardy novel of the week: I had to read Tess of the D’Urbervilles and Jude the Obscure. These novels start off pretty bleak, and just get worse and worse–I don’t want to give away plot details to anyone who intends to read these novels, but let’s just say that there are no happy endings, for anybody involved (then again, the beginnings aren’t particularly cheerful either); characters suffer spiritual and monetary poverty, social rejection and humiliation, thwarted love, disease, and death. It’s just not good.

Considering that I’ve reached the part of the semester where it starts getting really stressful, I’m hoping my reading assignments get a bit cheerier. They’re bringing me down! But considering that I’ll be reading Joyce, James, and Woolf, among others, my guess is that the bleakness will continue. I think I may have to turn to lighter things in my recreational life (what little exists); last night Graham and I watched The Godfather Part II. Excellent, yes: but definitely not light. I’ve never been big on romantic comedies, but given the current overload of depressing stories, I’m thinking about expanding my repertoire. Any recommendations on movies/TV shows that could lighten the mood?

~ by releasethebadgers on February 26, 2009.

One Response to “Most depressing week of reading assignments ever”

  1. Have you seen “Once”? Unfortunately, it seems that none of my taste is wholly light– there’s always some element of either dark humor or practical reality in the things I really love.

    I hope you manage to avoid semester stress as long as possible!

Leave a Reply

 
