Delectable

Macarons

Before going to France, I read about Parisian macarons, delicious confections that are slightly crisp on the outside and moist and slightly gooey on the inside. I went to France determined to try them, and I did manage to do so–dragging Graham out into the streets of Paris in the middle of a rainstorm. They definitely live up to the hype.

The most famous place to get them is Laduree, a lovely patisserie on the Champs Elysee. They are not exactly cheap, but totally worth it: the taste and texture are incredible, and like nothing else I’ve eaten. They come in all sorts of amazing and creative flavors, everything from raspberry and citrus to salted caramel and rose petal.

I’ve been craving these for weeks. But I’m not just craving macarons; Paris itself, and France in general, have been on my mind. The city is beautiful and romantic and I have so much left to see; we missed the Sacre Coeur, Versailles, Les Invalides…the list goes on. Right now Cambridge–Massachusetts–is about the most exotic location I have time to visit. But I’m hoping that Graham and I can get back there sometime in the next couple years. It seems silly to re-visit somewhere we’ve already been, given that we have a laundry list of other places we’re longing to visit, but…it’s Paris!

~ by releasethebadgers on February 2, 2009.

One Response to “Delectable”

  1. I am definitely going to try one of these when I’m in Paris! I know we take a walking tour of Champs Elysee and the surrounding area, so I’ll make a quick stop :)

Leave a Reply

 
