Back in Boston

So Graham, Sarge, Lucy, and I all made it back safely. We drove two full days with no bad weather (I think that’s the first time that has ever happened to us–it seems like every time we try to travel the weather decides to oppose us) and we successfully smuggled the cat and hedgehog in and out of the hotel without being discovered. Back at our apartment after two weeks in Wisconsin and two days on the road, the apartment seems cold and quiet. It is nice to get back to a more private living situation–hooray to sleeping in our own bed again–but I also miss the hustle and bustle and camaraderie of being surrounded by other people. I especially miss my sisters. Last year we were able to spend spring break together in Saint Augustine, and it was great fun. This year none of our breaks line up, so that’s not going to work. I’m hoping to find a way to see them both in March, though.

Besides being quiet and cold, our apartment is also…stinky. Although we cleaned out the fridge prior to leaving, it seems we forgot to put the soup in the freezer. When I opened the fridge in an attempt to find the source of the mystery stink, I gagged. So, source found. We’ve been doing everything we can to rid our apartment of it before Chris and Sara come to town tomorrow. (We are travelling to Vermont with Chris and Sara and Bob and Ali in a few days.)

Since we got back I have mostly been doing a bunch of reading, trying to get something done on this paper before we leave for Vermont. The paper is utterly unwritten at this point and due on the 12th, the day we get back from Vermont. I don’t think that being surrounded by friends and beer will be good for my productivity, but at this point I have little choice–I am going to have to write the paper while everybody else is skiing during the day. Oh, grad school. You ruin everything. Then again, I could be back in the office at this point. So I guess I can’t complain too bitterly.

Ok, time to go home (I’m at the library now) and eat some dinner. Hope your holidays were wonderful–restful, healthy and happy.

~ by releasethebadgers on January 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
