Happy 2009!

So, out with the old and in with the new. Though I’m not usually very big on the “new year” stuff–to me it often feels like an artificial earmarker–even I agree that it’s time for a fresh start. Here are a few of my resolutions:

  • Increase my upper body strength
  • Practice mindfulness
  • Keep a journal
  • Eat more fruits and veggies every day

There are more, but I won’t bore you with the entire list. (Also, I may have been overaggressive in how many things I can really accomplish!) In keeping with one of my other resolutions, to spend more quality time with Graham, we bought tickets to the Boston Symphony last night. The concert sounds great–Mozart, Handel, and Haydn–and we’re excited to have an excuse to dress up.

We have been very busy in Chippewa, trying to visit with everyone. We are really lucky to have both of our families in one place, but that also makes our visits home quite hectic! We have also been catching up with old friends, which always reminds us of how fortunate we are to have forged such wonderful and lasting friendships in our hometown. The night before last we went to Action City, a ridiculously large arcade/amusement area?–I’m not sure what to call it–with Stephanie and Justin. We played laser tag and went go carting and got in touch with our silly sides…it was a welcome break from being responsible adults.

Well, that’s all I have time for now. The restfulness of this break has been somewhat mitigated by the fact that I still have a paper hanging over my head, and it’s not even started…I got here and realized that I hadn’t done sufficient research, and I am now isolated from the resources I need to work on it. So I’m going to be scrambling to get this paper done in the three days I have between returning to Boston and our subsequent trip to Vermont with college friends…I have a sinking feeling that I may have to skip at least part of the Vermont trip. )=

Once again, Happy New Year!

~ by releasethebadgers on January 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
